RSS

The “Typical Chinese are LOSERS” video

23 Oct

I was browsing through the facebook yesterday, and there’s a
page posting a link to a youtube video, with this as the title: “Typical Chinese
are LOSERS”. It wouldn’t be weird if the video was created by race other than Chinese.
But believe it or not, the video was created by a Chinese. Huh?? A Chinese guy
posting a video to insult the Chinese?? It’s like a policeman organised a riot against the police force..

Naturally, it got my attention to view
it and I gotta say that………… it’s an awkward video. I think that guy was trying
to express his feelings in a funny way, but I don’t find it humorous at all. It
was speechless all the way until the video ends.

Basically, the video is about this guy who prefers to talk
in English rather than in Chinese. He claimed that many of his Chinese friends
hate it when they ask him something in Chinese and he replied them in English.
He was ‘shooting’ all the typical Chinese throughout the video; about how he
dislike them calling him a banana, or how he wants to help them improve their English
and thus, they must thank him instead, or how they laughed at him when he tried
to speak Cantonese/mandarin.

Being a banana too myself, I do understand his points (note:
he’s not a banana, he can speak can/man) but is it necessary to create this
video just for this purpose? Though the video is some sort of supporting my
side, I find it offending as well. It’s ok to hate these kind of people (there’s
few people in my list too =D) but there’s a thin line between appropriate and
overdoing it.

As expected, lots of hate comments coming in and for your
info, he even created another video, saying that he went to a police station
because he received 2 comments that he believed are threatening his live. Wow,
ermmmm… okay…..

Wanna know another interesting part? I know that guy! We
studied in the same secondary school and he’s 1 year older than me. We met few
times before but rarely exchange any word. The first time viewing this video, he
looked familiar and after doing some research online, I finally know who this guy
is.

And since you had spent your time reading until here, I’m
going to tell you another interesting thing. In response to that video, a girl
uploaded a video to back him up. And I know that girl too! Her age is same as
mine, studied in the same secondary school and we were both librarians too. Lol,
it’s amusing to watch their videos. I mean, how often can you find someone you
know who uploaded such bold videos?

Just a note to that guy: I admire your guts to stand up and
express your feelings that way. Not many people dare to do what you just did.
But at the same time, you have to keep in mind that in internet, where
everything is virtual including the person identity, everyone will comment
whatever they want, no matter how nasty it is. A coward and timid guy in real
life can suddenly become a big bully in virtual world. So, be prepare to
receive mean comments if you want to upload such video again in the future.

Here are the links if you are curious about the videos:

Title: Typical Chinese are LOSERS

Link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iTyvCfv8zNQ&feature=related

 

Title: I went to the POLICE STATION!!!!!!!

Link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cTTgZ4_JnCo&feature=related

 

Title: Respond to GermaniProductions “Typical Chinese are LOSERS”

Link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AnguYowE6oU&feature=related

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 23, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a comment